The Summer I Turned Pretty.

“It was a summer I’d never, ever forget.It was the summer everything began. It was the summer I turned pretty.”    

 

We all have that one summer that changes everything. The summer I turned pretty trilogy by Jenny Han is all about that summer. The summer triology was a gift from my best friend on my 21st birthday. It was the best gift any girl can get. It’s my favourite book series and my priced possession. When I feel sad this book never fails to cheer me up. This book was very nostalgic to me. It was bringing all my nicest memories back to me. I was punk girl while growing up I was one of the boys. But it changed one summer, they saw me as a girl. We all have that moment of transformation. You would relate to it, you will laugh with it and cry with it. It’s about the first crush, breaking your heart, letting go, finding comfort with someone and choosing between your best friend and love of your life. And no matter how much you love another person you can’t be with them if they don’t treat you right.

It is a book ever girl should read. This is a summer read, a book to read by the beach or by the pool or even in your backyard. This series is not the ultimate romantic novel but instead shows you what growing up is all about. One day you feel and seem average and next thing boys are staring to get notice. Your getting older and your body is maturing. This novel doesn’t gets you uncomfortable or anything. But it makes you see that getting older changes you. It’s realistic to the core and that’s what I love about it. You aren’t depressed it’s not overly fantastical but instead shows real life and its ups and down. It has a prefect ending, so prefect that it makes you cry with joy. It was everything I hoped and more.

No matter what age group you belong, this is the ultimate summer read for every girl out there.

  
Best Quotes from the Summer Triology :These quotes are so good and powerful that it directly touch your heart and pierce your soul.

“Moments, when lost, can’t be found again. They’re just gone”.

“I will never look at you in the same way ever again. I’ll never be that girl again. The girl who comes running back every time you push her away, the girl who loves you anyway”.

“I used to believe. I used to think that if I wanted it bad enough, wished hard enough, everything would work out the way it was supposed to. Like Destiny, l wished for Conrad on every birthday, every shooting star, every lost eyelash, every penny in a fountain was dedicated to the one I loved. I thought it would always be that way”.

“Victory is a thousand times sweeter when you’re the underdog”.

“When someone’s been gone a long time, at first you save up all the things you want to tell them. You try to keep track of everything in your head. But it’s like trying to hold on to a fistful of sand: all the little bits slip out of your hands, and then you’re just clutching air and grit”.

“He didn’t give me flowers or candy. He gave me the moon and the stars. Infinity.


How do you regret one of the best nights of your entire life? You don’t. You remember every word, every look. Even when it hurts, you still remember”.

“That’s when I finally got it. I finally understood. It wasn’t the thought that counted. It was the actual execution that mattered, the showing up for somebody. The intent behind it wasn’t enough. Not for me. Not anymore. It wasn’t enough to know that deep down, he loved me. You had to actually say it to somebody, show them you cared. And he just didn’t. Not enough”.

“And no matter what you do or how hard you try, you can’t stop yourself from dreaming”.

“We stood there, looking at each other, saying nothing. But it was the kind of nothing that meant everything”.

“In the dark you can feel really close to a person. You can say whatever you want”.

“Maybe that was how it was with all first loves. They own a little piece of your heart, always”.

“I knew it in my bones. That this time was it. I had finally made my choice, and so had he. He let me go. I was relieved, which I expected. What I didn’t expect was to feel so much grief”.

“But just because you bury something, that doesn’t mean it stops existing. Those feelings, they’d been there all along. All that time. I had to face it. He was part of my DNA. I had brown hair and I had freckles and I would always have Conrad in my heart”.

“If I could I’d go back to that moment and say all the right things, I’d tell her I loved her, I’d make it so that she never looked that way again”.

“There are moments in life that you wish with all your heart you could take back. Like, just erase from existence. Like, if you could, you’d erase yourself right out of existence too, just to make that moment not exist”.




So have you read this book what’s your best and worst part and if this book turns into a movie which actors do you think will make justice to Belly, Conrad and Jeremiah. I don’t know about others but I really think Matt lanter would make a perfect Conrad.

Share your thoughts in the comments below.
Image credit : 123RF and captionit.com

11 thoughts on “The Summer I Turned Pretty.

  1. Ahhhh….Now I seriously just HAVE to check out this trilogy that you recommended, except that I don’t really have time right now haha. Ugh. Why are there so many tests this entire month of April (and May) that are stopping me from flying to my book list?
    This book sounds so amazing…so amazing that I might just accidentally end up casually sneaking it in on a study night haha. Anywho, I’m so excited for the day I get to read this book! Thanks for this amazing rec!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww thanks! Good luck to you with whatever is troubling you, too! (even though I don’t exactly know what your worries are, or if you’re currently troubled by anything)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

