Soulmate

I sit here quietly

and watch the sun set

Thinking of someone

that I’ve never met

I wonder,

does he think of me too

Needless to say I am

thinking of you

Wondering how will we meet

Will you be worth of my every skipped heartbeat

Wanting to see your face

To take you away

to a better place

You feel so right,

Love that be true

I just cant stop

thinking of you

I might regret

Losing my heart to a guy

I’ve not met

Living in a dream

Waiting for someone who might

Only exist in my realm

There is nothing I can do

I cannot help thinking of you

All I can do is believe in you.

“Once Upon A Dream”- Sleeping Beauty.

I know you, I walked with you once upon a dream

I know you, that look in your eyes is so familiar a gleam

And I know it’s true that visions are seldom all they seem

But if I know you, I know what you’ll do

You’ll love me at once, the way you did once upon a dream

I know I haven’t met you yet. And I know I know nothing about you but I do know that I will love you with all there is to.

The truth is, I wake up wanting to wake up next to you. I wake up wanting to make you breakfast. I wake up wondering when I would meet the person who will lace dreams within my pillowcase, who will live like sleep within my eager eyes.
I wake up wondering what it would be like to finally hear you introduce yourself. I dreamof the coffee shop we would frequent for months before noticing each other, the dusty bookstore you would take me to on our first date. I envision the ways you would tell me about your goals, your aspirations, always noticing how your pupils dilated whenever you look at me, as if matchsticks ignited every time we locked eyes.
I wake up wondering how you would love; if your heart would speak the same language as mine, if we would learn to accept the differences that lived between us like rivers. It is easy for me to get excited thinking about all of the ways I would quietly prove to you how much I care for you. I know that I would only ever want to give you the world. I know that I would only ever want to inspire your soul.


So I have made the decision to believe in you. To truly, and wildly, believe that you were waking up at 9am on a Sunday morning wondering if I existed, too. I wake up choosing you, wherever you are, however you would come to me, and that is why I did not fall in love with you. I am waiting for you. I hope for you. I am preparing myself to love you, to embrace you, so that when you do introduce yourself to me in that coffee shop, or take me to that bookstore on our first date, I would be ready to love you the way I always dreamed of loving you — I would be ready to love you the way you always deserved to be loved.

Last poem ” I wake up” is not mine but It perfectly words my thoughts and speaks my mind. Last poem is excerpt from Seeds planted in concrete. Please check out her book Seeds Planted In Concrete by Bianca Sparacino here.

Image credit : shutterstock 

38 thoughts on “Soulmate

  1. This is beautiful writing. Love inspires hope, even when the person appears in your life. Love will fuel each day that you look forward to spending with them. Love..so refreshing, and uplifting. Powerful.
    Lovely piece

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

