Disney Nostalgia

I love Disney. I spend half of my childhood watching these amazing Disney shows and cartoons. I literally grew up with it. My parents were quiet strict when it came to TV. I was only allowed to watch children stuff. We had that good old computer but none of us knew how to use it, then Dail-up Internet came along but I could only use that for school stuff and all I knew was to play Mario and barbie on that. No regrets !! Disney was amazing those days. We had amazing shows, Disney movies and Disney channel original movies. Now when I see Disney I feel bad for the kids and teens there are no good shows on Disney. ( Maybe Girl meets world but that too is a spin off of Boy meets world ). Old Disney show felt really fun to watch. I enjoyed most of the episodes and characters and I really do wish quality could go back up on Disney Channel since it has been stale for a while.

Lizzie McGuire 

Before Jennifer Lawrence, Hillary duff was the one everyone wanted to be best friends with. How can you not love hiliary duff. I was younger than her but could totally relate to her. Lizzie McGuire (๐ŸŽตRemember the song, – If you believe we got a picture perfect plan…) define 8th grade for me. Ethan craft with his luscious locks and classic good looks it isn’t hard to see why Lizzie was all about him in her middle school days and Miranda was best friend ever. The cartoon was cool too. Lizzie McGuire was so big you had do a movie. Her and Goudo got together that was the big thing.(๐ŸŽตHey now hey now this what dreams are made of..). Then there was Cinderella Story OMG OMG Chad Michael Murray ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜. If that didn’t blew your mind that combination I don’t know what will. I watched Cinderella Story literally two week back. It is always on ABC and this time I couldn’t resist. Her musical career was big too. I actually liked her music to be honest cheesy but catchy. But In my mind she will always be Lizzie McGuire.

Wizards of Waverley place



Every child dreams of having magical powers. I was no exception to that. Wizards, being a wizards is quite a coolest thing. The show that was really good writing. Execellent story line the wizard family with amazing magic power but has to hide to the world. Selene Gomez had a really good comedic timing. J T Austen was so cute and funny. He was in the Foster in ABC.

“Disney Channel’s Wizards of Waverly Place, a sitcom built around a family of Harry Potters who happen to live a long way away from Hogwarts. Selena Gomez stars as Alex Russo, a wisecracking underachiever who uses her built-in magic to try to smooth the path through high school. She’s a Disney protagonist with a hint of rebellionโ€”Cinderella with a yen for detention. She exudes a slouching, too-cool-for-school vibe. It’s an attitude she conveniently explains while under the influence of a “truth spell”

Mirroring that magical messiness, Alex has proven to be a less than ideal role model for her hordes of young Disneyfied fans. And the adults in her life are buffoonish and a little less wise than you might wish for or even expect. “I am raising myself,” Alex sighs to herself at one point, and sometimes that feels about right.”

.
That’s So Raven



This was one of few Disney shows that boys in my class did watch and admit it too. It was unsual concept for teenage show. Teenager norms that has never been done before. It had diversity. It was but a norm. It has best tag lines. Raven’s “you nasty” was way popular back then. Raven Chelsea and eddy were OG squad.

A teenage girl briefly receives psychic vision of near future. Trying to make this vision come true results in troubles and hilarious situations. 

“Disney loves the formula of giving a normal kid something extraordinary or magical to contend with. And That’s So Raven successfully fits the mold. The writers and actors aren’t quite up to the demands of drama, though, and — as virtually every story tries to weave Raven’s dreams into the stuff that family and friendships are made of — the series often gets too basic for its intended preteen audience.

Naturally, conflicts are swiftly resolved and everyone comes out the wiser. Trite as the show may be, Raven, her mischievous little brother, and her parents are all good role models and comedians who can shine when given good material.”

Hannah Montana


Rockstar is coolest thing to be for a teenager.It sparked a movie it sparked a world tour. It was best of both worlds. She had life of an rockstar and girl next door. Her acting and singing was very good. Miley was the next best thing. Atleast before VMAs she was. After the vma thing Miley went crazy off Disney officially has taken off anything that has to with her in iTunes and stuffs.

Nevertheless Hannah Montana was a great show. If Hannah Montana which recently completed 10 years taught me anything it that life is not going to be exciting and fun I need to make it exciting and fun.

“Now when you turn on Hannah Montana, you see โ€ฆ a charismatic teen fronting a goofy, almost-always-innocent Disney sitcom.

Say what you want about the evolution of Miley Cyrus, her flagship program is still mostly on the up-and-up. Cyrus, as Miley Stewart, still sings to full houses as alter ego Hannah Montana. She still lives with her father (real-life pops Billy Ray Cyrus) and hangs out with brother Jackson and friends Lilly and (when he’s around) Oliver. She still lives in Malibu, Calif., but (on the show, at least) holds true to her small-town Tennessee values.

She loves and honors her father, cares for her friends and almost always learns a thing or two when the week’s 30-minute crisis has run its course. So enjoy it while you can. Because once Hannah’s gone, Miss Cyrus may drop the facade and make her world domination officialโ€”and we’ll all be buying our Cyrus-branded cappuccinos with Mileybucks.”


Honarable mentions :

Even Stevens 

Suite life of zack and Cody.

Phil of the future

Sonny with a chance 

Disney Channel Original Movies were the second best thing. My favourite are You wish!, Brink, Wish upon a star(which had Katherine Heighl in it) and Smart house. I know they are not popular but I definitely loved them. My other favourites which are popular as well are High school musical, Camp rock, Geek charming, Cadet kelly, Get a clue, Cheetah girls, Halloween town, Princess protection plan, Zenon, Model behaviour, Bad hair day etc etc

Disney Movies : 


Disney movies are known for being heartwarming, cute, funny, inspirational, and sweet. But they also feature some of the most dazzling artwork ever committed to film.

I was raised on a viewing diet of Princess, their beautiful gowns and beautiful shoes, handsome and kind princes, magical powers, flying carpets, talking animals, and catchy songs sung by animated characters. You probably were, too.

Few of us made it through childhood without Disney being part of our lives. Films from The Walt Disney Company became an important part of our early years But maybe weโ€™ve noticed things as adults that our childhood selves never saw in Disney movies.

Cinderella, Ariel, Belle, Snow White, Aurora, Pocahontas, Tiana, Anastasia, Jasmine and Mulan are the beautiful princesses who had beautiful stories and happily ever afters. Bambi, Lion king( Simba), Tarzan, Toy story, Peter Pan, Robinhood, Pinocchio and Winnie the Pooh are some of my favourite Disney movies and characters.

It teached us to believe, to dream, to be brave, to choose love over hate, family matters, to be a nice person. Cinderella teaches us that even miracles takes a little time, Toy story to reach for the sky, Peter Pan that all it takes is faith and trust and just keep swimming says finding nemo. What more life lessons you want children’s to learn. Disney is the best teacher!!!

Cartoons:

And while we are at it lets talk about cartoons. Baby looney toons, Power Rangers, Hey Arnold, Rugrats, Family guy, Recess, Pokemon (pikachu, pika pika!! He is still my favourite pocket monster, I do remember having the cards collection and playing Pokemon snap), Powerpuff girls( Feminist!A show where three super girls save the world), SpongeBob, Richie rich, Gummi Bears, Johnny bravo, Scooby doo, Popeye, Dexter, The flinstones etc are all beautiful part of my childhood.
Without question, the 90s were full of some mind blowing  cartoons. The expansion of original programming on cable TV channels like Nickelodeon, the Disney Channel, and Cartoon Network (and the subsequent competition among all kids-oriented programming blocs) led to a new era of creativity, and animation that started evolving away from the previously ubiquitous Hanna-Barbera style. But what were some of the very best of the best? I dug into my mind palaces of TV nostalgia to come up with the list of beloved 90s series

I miss the old Disney, do you ?? What is favourite old school cartoon??

70 thoughts on “Disney Nostalgia

  1. Disney used to rock with their cartoons back in the day. I remember gargoyles,duck tales,chip and dales rescue rangers and dark wing duck. I still buy them when available. I have chip and dales rescue rangers on dvd.

    Like

  2. For me “old Disney” is The Wonderful World of Disney on Sunday nights in the late ’60s and early ’70s. I remember very little of it, except for the opening credits with the Disneyland fireworks and Tinkerbell, and that occasionally they’d show one of the then-current Disney movies (The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes comes to mind) over three weeks. (Later on, there were also syndicated reruns of the original Mickey Mouse Club on local TV.) Walt Disney was still around back then, so Disney hadn’t evolved into the Michael Eisner-led, uber-corporate Disney that the company eventually became.

    Although I never saw any of the shows you mention, I think that 1990s era may be the last truly memorable era for Disney. I was never interested (I preferred Nickelodeonโ€”Aaaah! Real Monsters, Rocko’s Modern Life, Rugrats, Hey Arnold, and Angry Beavers among the cartoons; and Clarissa Explains it All and The Adventures of Pete and Pete among the live-action shows), but at least Disney still had a strong identity back then. These days, Disney seems awfully genericโ€”even Phineas and Ferb feels as though it could be on Nickelodeon or Cartoon Network without any modification whatsoever (in part because the folks behind it were also involved in Rocko’s Modern Life), and there seems to be little difference among the animated films produced by Pixar (now part of Disney), DreamWorks, and every other studio releasing animated features.

    Then again, someday the nostalgia will be for whatever is going on now. The more things changeโ€ฆ

    Like

  3. Great post, it feels good to think about all those amazing shows again! I kind of forgot about them, but they were definitely a part of my childhood ๐Ÿ™‚
    My personal favourites are Lizzie Magguire and That’s so Raven. Those two girls made me laugh so much! I also liked Sabrina: the animated series โค

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is so good to go through all of that stuff once again..I personally feel that every child should have a childhood..they shouldn’t be thrown up directly to the race to conquer the world..
    We all got so busy in stuffs that we don’t have the time to cherish upon on those good old memories..
    Thanks to you for making it fresh..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome๐Ÿ˜Š. I agree too, Childhood is so precious we won’t/can’t be that unconditional, genuinely happy, innocent, kind or honest or vulnerable anymore. And when we look back we miss being that person who doesn’t have to be calculative of her every move. Thank you for stopping by.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I think its great you got to watch cartoons as a kid. When I was young my parents didn’t want to pay for the TV channel that showed all of the Disney cartoons so I never got to exposed to animation as a kid. I saw Lion King for the first time last year at age 23 lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I loved all those shows especially Lizzie McGuire. And I loved every movie Hilary Duff was in. This made me all nostalgic. And the animated series like Kim Possible ๐Ÿ˜! What happend to Disney?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. K.C Undercover is an amazing show too, and kids these days like the new actors, I feel as if the shows then were just as good as they are today, but it is kind of given young kids a chance to put their self out there. Importantly is seeing young kids on stage, and it inspires more 2016 citizens to go and show the world it doesn’t matter how old you are, you can do anything you believe in. But I can’t watch TV on school days either.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah I think your are right. Maybe it’s like the generation thing. Nowadays Kids are different, they grew up in quite a total different environment and so they may not like these shows like we did. They do having coolest apps and video games I wish I had. And Kids are definitely more confident. So all is well. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome if you want some amazing and more inspiring quotes and opinions, just do a daily search on Zendaya Coleman, I love her so much! She is the one who plays on K.C Undercover, Trinette strokes, Judy, Veronica Dunne, Marrisa, Kamil McFadden, Tammy Townsend, Kira Cooper, Kadeem Hardison, Craig Cooper. I am always happy to share my thought you can ask me if you have a question!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. But I do miss that so raven but I haven’t really heard of any of those other shows except for Hannah Montana, since I hate miley cirus.

        Like

  8. Out of all the “new” stuff you have up here, I really enjoyed That’s so Raven! and a little Boy meets world. Old timers…pppfff…where do I start… I think anything that Cartoon Network showed I watched (including the silly 2 stupid dogs, Ed, Edd and Eddy, etc). I really liked Pirates of the Dark Water, The Flinstones and other mini-series with their kids, Captain Planet, Sandy Belle, Adventures of Nils Holgersson (I grew up in Europe)

    A great post and it portrays how many of us feel about what’s shown now on TV for kids

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Boy meets world and that’s so raven, I’m glad that you like them too. I think I have seen most of the cartoon you mentioned, Ed, Edd and Eddy was one of my favourites. Thank you for stopping by and reading it. Have a nice day Laura. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  9. I love Lizzie McGuire!! Did you know that on free form they’re playing old Disney shows at like midnight, but if you download their app and sign in with your cable provider you can watch them on demand. All of Lizzie McGuire and that’s so raven are on there

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Old school Disney animation was awesome, but I can’t bear the more recent, CGI movies, they’re so soulless and sterile. And I’m very glad I don’t have the Disney channel, (despite my American daughter’s earlier addiction to it; she’s now hooked on British kids tv, fortunately) their shows are all so inane and I find the stars incredibly whiny and annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 90’s was amazing!! My favorite shows were Recess, Scooby-doo, Duck Tales, That’s so raven also there was a Game show called “The legend of hidden temple” on Nickelodeon. The old Disney & Cartoon Network were awesome

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Amazingly this brought so many childhood memories alive all at once. I was crazily mad about these Disney shows. All my holiday afternoons were devoted to this amusement. After reading your post, I feel an urge to revive my years old laughter through Youtube ๐Ÿ™‚

    Time has taken with it so many things but left behind beautiful memories. And the cartoon shows you mentioned at last, I have seen ALL OF THEM. I could say that aloud to justify the awesomeness of childhood – 90’s kids FTW.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. These days children would entertain themselves over Xbox & Oggy and the Cockroaches ๐Ÿ˜›

        I think its more of a perception though. We witnessed that era and we crazily enjoyed it and that’s why we are considering it awesome. As the time evolved, so does the natural thinking. To know how it feels to be modern kid, we would have to be one of this generation.

        Nevertheless, it admire your post. In fact I totally love it. Happy weekend to you too! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I would too. I didn’t catch much of Drake and Josh, I did see some episodes though . It was fun but for some reason I didn’t get to watch it regularly. But no doubt it’s a quite a popular great show and everyone I knew had a thing for Drake. Thank you for stopping by. Happy weekend. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  13. Even though I was too old be watching some Disney shows, I did like Lizzie. I sorta like Hannah Montana. Chris had bought a Wizards of Waverley place movie. I liked the movie, but never watched the show. I should say I didn’t have cable when I was growing up.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

